Crew 2023's
Home Page
On My Honor
What it Means
What is Venturing
Venturing Awards
Who We Are
Central Region BSA
Upcoming Events
Past Adventures

Venturing Crew 2023
(Salina , Kansas)
ScoutLander Contact Our Crew Member Login

   The Central Region is the administrative body that services 68 local BSA councils in the Great Midwest of the United States. The territory spanned by the Central Region includes council headquarter cities in 13 states, including all of Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, Wisconsin, and parts of Indiana, Kentucky, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Virginia, and West Virginia. As a whole, these 68 councils positively influence the lives of over 460,000 registered youth in traditional BSA programs. Included in that figure are over 24,000 Venturers in over 2,100 crews (including over 900 Sea Scouts in over 90 ships). The region works to support and sustain these 69 councils as they build, support and sustain their programs. 
The Central Region is divided into 7 areas. 

The Central Region's primary responsibility is to aid and support each local council's Venturing program operations. Among the ways the Region reaches out to local councils is through Area Presidents. Each Area President is a youth Venturer that works closely with both the regional leadership and with the councils in their respective area. Additional support for the uniqueness of the Sea Scouting program is provided by a Regional Boatswain.
Central Region map (pdf)

Area 1 
- is in the states of: Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota
- includes the following councils:  Bay-Lakes, Central Minnesota, Chippewa Valley, Gamehaven, Gateway Area, Northeast Iowa, Northern Lights, Northern Star, Samoset, Sioux, Twin Valley, Voyageurs Area
Area 1's facebook group is at
Area 1 map (pdf)

Area 2 
- is in the state of Michigan
- includes these councils:  President Ford, Water and Woods, Southern Shores, Great Lakes
Area 2's facebook group is at
Area 2 map (pdf)

Area 3 
- is in the states of Illinois, Iowa & Missouri
- includes these councils: Abraham Lincoln, Greater St. Louis, Hawkeye Area, Illowa, Lewis & Clark, Lincoln Trails, Mississippi Valley, Northeast Iowa, Prairilands,  Winnebago, W.D. Boyce
Area 3's facebook group is at
Area 3 map (pdf)

Area 4 
- is in the states of Ohio & West Virginia
- includes these councils:  Allohak, Buckeye, Buckskin, Great Trail, Greater Cleveland, Grtr. Western Reserve, Heart of Ohio, Miami Valley, Mountaineer Area, Muskingum Valley, Ohio River Valley, Simon Kenton
Area 4's facebook group is at
Area 4 map (pdf)

Area 5 
- is in the states of Missouri, Kansas and Nebraska
- includes these councils: Cornhusker, Coronado Area, Great Rivers, Heart of America, Jayhawk Area, Mid-America, Mid-Iowa, Overland Trails, Ozark Trails, Pony Express, Quivira, Santa Fe Trail
Area 5's facebook group is at
Area 5 map (pdf)

Area 6
- is in the states of Indiana and Ohio
- includes these councils: Anthony Wayne Area, Black Swamp Area, Buffalo Trace, Crossroads of America, Dan Beard, Erie Shores, Hoosier Trails, LaSalle, Miami Valley, Sagamore, Tecumseh
Area 6's facebook group is at
Area 6 map (pdf)

Area 7
- includes Chicagoland, Northern Illinois, Northwest Indiana, Milwaukee, Madison, and Southeast Wisconsin
- includes these councils: Blackhawk Area, Glaciers Edge, Northeast Illinois, Pathway to Adventure, Potawatomi Area, Rainbow, Three Harbors, Three Fires
Area 7's facebook group is at
Area 7 map (pdf)

Links to the council websites can be found on